Tuesday, May 7, 2013

Special session looms; trustees and board appointment wrap-up

The 105-day regular legislative session ended Sine Die on April 28 without agreement on the state’s two-year operating and capital budgets.

The Legislature will reconvene for a special session beginning next Monday, May 13, at 9 a.m. While the state constitution requires the Governor to call the Legislature back to work for a period no longer than 30 days, the bodies many adjourn sooner if a budget deal is struck.

During special session, all bills previously introduced during regular session may be considered again, new bills may be introduced, and there are no cut-off deadlines for bills considered.

Trustee and State Board appointments confirmed by Senate

One of the responsibilities of the Senate is to confirm appointments of community and technical college trustees and members of the State Board for Community and Technical Colleges. The appointments are made by the Governor and then referred to the Senate for confirmation.

When it was all said and done, 58 two-year college trustees and one State Board members were confirmed during the 2013 regular session.

Jim Bricker was reappointed and confirmed to the State Board for Community and Technical Colleges.

Trustees confirmed during their first term Lisa Chin, Bellevue College; Debbie Ahl and Jim Groves, Bellingham Technical College; Anna Franz and Miguel Villarreal, Big Bend Community College; Janet McDaniel, Cascadia Community College; Faaluaina ( Lua) Pritchard, Clover Park Technical College; Kedrich Jackson, Columbia Basin College; Ed Morgan, Community Colleges of Spokane; Diana Clay, Edmonds Community College; Bob Bolerjack and Janet Kusler, Everett Community College; Arthur Blauvelt and Denise Portmann, Grays Harbor College; Mark Albertson, Green River Community College; Neil Johnson and Darrell Mitsunaga, Lake Washington Institute of Technology; Steve Vincent, Lower Columbia College; Jim Page, Olympic College; Lawrence (Mike) Glenn, Peninsula College; Angela Roarty and Steve Smith, Pierce College District; Susan Palmer, Renton Technical College; Courtney Gregoire, Seattle Community Colleges; Phillip Barrett, Shoreline Community College; Lindsey Fiker and Christon Skinner, Skagit Valley College; Judith Hartmann, South Puget Sound Community College; Darcey Fugman-Small and Donald McQuary, Walla Walla Community College; Tamra Jackson, Wenatchee Valley College.

Trustees reappointed and confirmed:

Karen Seinfeld, Theresa Pan Hosley, and Calvin Pearson, Bates Technical College; Vicki Orrico, Bellevue College; James Cunningham, Bellingham Technical College; Louis Mendoza, Cascadia Community College; Joe Dolezal, Centralia College; Mark Martinez, Clover Park Technical College; Greg Bever, Community Colleges of Spokane; Rebecca Chaffee, Grays Harbor College; Lynnette Jones and Bruce Reid, Lake Washington Institute of Technology; Thuy Vo, Lower Columbia College; Beverly Cheney and Darlene Peters, Olympic College; Dwayne Johnson, Michael Maxwell, and Julie McCulloch, Peninsula College; Amadeo Tiam, Pierce College District; Brian (Kirby) Unti, Renton Technical College; Roger Olstad, Shoreline Community College; John Stephens, Skagit Valley College; Robert Ryan, Tacoma Community College; Miguel Sanchez, Walla Walla Community College; Sue Cole, Chuck Robinson, and Barbara Rofkar, Whatcom Community College.

Names of any trustees not receiving confirmation this session will be resubmitted for confirmation before the Senate, either during special session or during the 2014 regular session.

Bills signed by the Governor

Bills passed during the regular session continue to be signed into law by the Governor. The Bill Watch List provides greater detail on bills tracked during the regular session and will continue to be updated as action is taken.

Future editions

Legislative News will be published during special session as state leaders make decisions, hold committee hearings, or discuss topics important to the community and technical college system. Stay tuned!